Just another WordPress.com weblog

Archive for February, 2009

Montana School District Bans “The Story of Stuff” from Classrooms

Missoula County Public Schools in Montana has recently declared the online video “The Story of Stuff” to be too controversial for classroom viewing.

According to the Missoulian, Kathleen Kennedy showed her biology class  at Big Sky High School the video last October in order to generate a discussion.  One parent, Mark Zuber, objected to the video and brought his grievance to the school board.  He argued that the video The school board first ruled 4-3 in favor of showing the video, however, they ruled 4-3 on another vote that it was a violation of Missoula County’s academic freedom policy.

The Story of Stuff blog has a drafted letter that you can send to the Missoula County School Board asking them to reconsider their decision. You can write them at publiccomment@mcps.k12.mt.us, and the blog is also asking readers to cc and bcc the Missoulian at newsdesk@missoulian.com.

Post a comment on here if you decide to write, too. We’d love to hear your thoughts.

Upcoming Meeting Info!

Here’s what you can look forward to at the next couple of Earth Club meetings:

February 24th @5pm – Trashformations! Join us as we make arts and crafts using reused and recycled materials! Come ready to create origami creatures, recycled notebooks, and other amazing, recycled art! Some amazing pieces will be showcased at the 2009 Earth Day Festival, of course, you also have the option to take your work home, too.  We’ll meet in the new Recycling modular unit behind the Facilities Management/Police building instead of the Greenhouse for this activity.

March 2nd @5pm – Meet David Jones, the UNC Charlotte Sustainability Coordinator! We’ll be back in the Greenhouse for an awesome presentation.

Join us, and make sure you bring a few friends. There’s enough Earth Love to go around for everyone!

Earth Club Election Results

The Earth Club elections for 2008-2009 are in, and here are your officers for next year:

President – Heather Williams
Vice President – Megan Smith
Treasurer – Brock Bowden
Secretary – Catherine Okafor

Congratulations to the officers-elect!

Tag Cloud